What’s SUP?

I come from a town where everyone my age describes it as boring. There is never anything to do, it’s a sleeping suburb, it’s all just parents and families here, blah blah blah.

Honestly, this summer I’ve discovered that

Yes, it’s a sleeping suburb.

Yes, it can be boring because its not LA and there is no Real Housewives filmed here.

Yes, its bleh because the coolest thing in the news is that a Publix (grocery store) is opening up near my house. But, despite all this, there are really interesting areas in the city. The city is surrounded by many lakes and the amount of trails are incredible.

Yesterday, my friends and I decided to check out Lake Crabtree. The lake lets people rent out canoes, kayaks, and pedal boats. They recently started renting out paddle boards, so we decided to take advantage of this.

I’d never gone paddle boarding before and my balance isn’t the best, so I already knew this was going to be either a disaster or a……disaster. And at first getting on it is scary. I mean you’re expected to be by yourself on a board the size of a yoga mat with a stick in your hand. All the “if you were stranded on a deserted island” scenarios were going through my head. But honestly, it wasn’t too bad. Definitely not the easiest thing I have done, but once you find your balance, paddle boarding isn’t the worst thing in the world.

It’s calming in a way and now if I was actually deserted on an island, I would wish for a paddle board to escape.

Check out some of the pictures from our adventure below and comment on which one was your favorite!

IMG_2252

IMG_2213 IMG_2205

IMG_2199

IMG_2248 Had to get in my attempt of a food picture.

IMG_2243

Peace. Love. SUP.

Soums

 

Leave a comment